Buckingham Palace Stakes

Officially known, since 2020, as the Buckingham Palace Handicap, the race formerly known as the Buckingham Palace Stakes is a Class 2 handicap run over 7 furlongs and open to horses aged three years and upwards. The Buckingham Palace Handicap is currently scheduled as the final race on the third day of Royal Ascot.

The Buckingham Palace Handicap is of course a very English affair, far removed from online casino united states and the like, and a relatively recent addition to the Royal Ascot programme, having been established in 2002. That year, to mark the Golden Jubilee of Queen Elizabeth II, the Saturday, a.k.a. ‘Ascot Heath’, was officially incorporated into Royal Ascot, thereby extending the meeting from four days to five. However, the Buckingham Palace Stakes was replaced by the newly-founded Commonwealth Cup in 2015 and did not return to the Royal Ascot programme until 2020. Following the suspension of horse racing due to the coronavirus pandemic, Royal Ascot was expanded to seven races each day and the change was made permanent in 2021.

The most famous winner of the Buckingham Palace Stakes was Regal Parade, trained by the late David Nicholls. In 2008, as a 4-year-old, he won the race en route to victory in the Ayr Gold Cup and, the following season, won the Group 1 Haydock Sprint Cup. While us members of the public are more likely to be winning on online real money casino sites, for the royal touch and connection, in the world of racing you can’t go far wrong by winning the Buckingham Palace Stakes!